Zarco claims the new title of best independent rider - GP Inside

Zarco claims the new title of best independent rider – GP Inside

Third in the MotoGP World Championship at the time of the break, Johann Zarka also leads the independents’ standings, which he already won last year.

Several titles are awarded each MotoGP season. There is, of course, that of the pilots, of which Fabio Quartararo is the current owner. Whichever team awards the team with the most points. The manufacturers have six involved brands competing. The one from beginners, which is about beginners in the category. This qualification is better known as the BMW M Award. And finally, independent pilots, where everyone who is not part of the factory team is grouped. Johann Zarka is one of them.

Arriving in MotoGP in 2017, the two-time Moto2 World Champion has spent all seasons with independent teams, with the exception of 2019 when he rode for Red Bull KTM Factory Racing. Best rookie in 2017, he was also immediately recognized as the best independent rider behind the wheel of the Yamaha Tech3 team. The Frenchman repeated his performance in 2018 before leaving for KTM (2019) and then signing with Ducati (2020). The time to adapt to the Desmosedici has passed and Johann Zarka is back at the top of the Independent Riders Championship in 2021 in his first campaign with Pramac Racing Ducati.

With four of the first eleven podiums in 2022, Cannois is one of the protagonists of the season. If he is 58 points ahead of Fabio Quartararo in the general classification, his results allow him to take first place among independent pilots. But unlike last year, where he dominated without too much trouble, he will have to fight to the end to retain his crown.

Young Italian Enea Bastianini, a big surprise at the start of the season, is keeping a close eye on Johan Zarco. Also on a Ducati, but for Gresini Racing, he has won three races so far and is just 9 points behind his French rival. Who could even be his team-mate in 2023, as Bestia will move to either a factory team or Pramac Racing.

Current third in this Independent Drivers’ Championship is none other than Johan Zarco’s garage neighbor, Jorge Martin. Due to numerous falls, the Spaniard lags behind him by 44 points. But he is starting to regain some regularity and could join the fray. Especially since there are tracks that he likes, such as the track in Spielberg (Austria) and Valencia (Spain), where he reached the podium in 2021. In other words:

MotoGP Satellite Championship after Dutch Grand Prix (11/20):
1. Yohan Zarka – 114 (-58)
2. Enea Bastianini – 105 (-9)
3. Jorge Martin – 70 (-44)
4. Marko Beceki – 55 (-59)
5. Luca Marini – 52 (-62)
6. Takaaki Nakagami – 42 (-72)
7. Alex Marquez – 27 (-87)
8. Fabio Di Giannantonio – 18 (-96)
9. Darrin Binder – 10 (-104)
10. Andrea Dovizioso – 10 (-104)
11. Remy Gardner – 9 (-105)
12. Raul Fernandez – 5 (-109)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.